Search for missing person near Mt Disappointment

Call-out

8:00 pm Mon 8 June. Call-out for BSAR members for a search near Mt Disappointment.

Tue 9 June

24 BSAR members searched all day and camped out overnight at search base near Mt Disappointment. The bush was think with regrowth from bushfires.

There were over 450 searchers from several different emergency services and numerous community volunteer searchers.

Continue reading “Search for missing person near Mt Disappointment”

Search for missing person near Princetown

Call-out11:00am Sun 24 Nov.  BSAR called out for search for missing person near Princetown.

4:00am Mon 25 Nov.  Ten BSAR members departed Melbourne to join the search at Princetown.

6:00pm Mon 25 Nov. Terrain searched by BSAR teams included thick coastal scrub, marshes and vegetation along creeks.  Our thanks to the Kangaroobie camp who kindly provided BSAR searchers with accommodation for the night.

Tue 26 Nov.  BSAR teams searched more thick coastal scrub above coastal cliffs. Returned to Melbourne in the afternoon after the missing person was located deceased.

2019 Princetown search BSAR tasking

Continue reading “Search for missing person near Princetown”

Search for missing person in Victorian Alps

8:00pm Fri 1 Nov.  BSAR called out for search for missing person Victorian Alps.  10 members attended.

9:00am Sat 2 Nov. Four BSAR teams were sent on search tasks in the Howqua, Howitt, Stirling areas camping out overnight.

9:00am Sun 3 Nov.  5 BSAR members joined the search.  14 members were in the field.

9:00am Mon 4 Nov.  9 BSAR members were in the field, 3 groups on 3 day search tasks camping out for 2 nights

4:30pm Tue 5/11.  10 BSAR members were in the field. One team was transported by the Police Airwing helicopter back to search base at Merrijig after completing a multi day search task in the Wonnangatta region.

6:00pm Wed 6/11. 4 BSAR members searched off track during the day then returned to Melbourne.

BSAR contributed a total of 46 searcher days.

Continue reading “Search for missing person in Victorian Alps”

Search for missing person close to Mount Buller

Thu 1 Aug 2019.  Twelve BSAR members joined the search for a missing person along the road up to Mount Buller.

Fri 2 Aug 2019. Searching continues.  Another call-out for BSAR was issued, departing early Saturday morning.

Sat 3 – Mon 5 Aug 2019.  Searching continued but the missing person was not located.  Remaining BSAR teams returned  on Monday afternoon.

The terrain being searched was  very difficult to traverse, with steep slopes and thick vegetation, including patches of blackberrries.

Continue reading “Search for missing person close to Mount Buller”

Search for missing person near Dargo

Sat 20 Jul 2019.  Five BSAR members participated in a search for a missing person near Dargo.

Sun 21 Jul 2019.  Fifteen more BSAR members joined the search.

Mon 22 Jul 2019. Eight more BSAR members joined the search.

Tue 23 Jul 2019.  BSAR members returned after their search tasks were completed.  The missing person was not located.

Thu 35 Jul 2019.  BSAR teams returned to the search after a sighting of the missing person’s dog was reported. The missing person was found deceased.